## Sharon Springs Central School Minutes of the Alumni Banquet Business Meeting June 8, 2024

The Alumni Association of the Sharon Springs Central School held their annual reunion of classes and banquet on Saturday, June 18, 2024 in the Coach Doig Gym with approximately 113 people present, including 72 alumni, retired and former teachers Karen Brueck and Bud Bressett, five members of the Class of 2024, with Dan Cornwell, Math Teacher and 2026 advisor filling in for senior advisors.

Prior to the banquet a social hour was held. Light refreshments were served in the Al Doig gym. At six o'clock alumni and guests were called to be seated for dinner.

Following the invocation given by Kenneth Doyle '72, Pastor, Center Street Baptist Church, Little Valley, NY, President John Acello '68 directed us in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag. <u>God</u> <u>Bless America</u> was sung by all, accompanied by Sarah Wright and Max Horning of the SSCS music department.

President Acello welcomed everyone attending with hopes to enjoy this special evening renewing and preserving ties with old friends and classmates. He noted that this is a 93-year tradition and hopes that it will continue.

A delicious pork loin dinner with a carving station manned by John MacDonald was served by the Class of 2026 under the direction of Advisor Anne Allen and assisted by student's parents. Melissa Simpson, Cafeteria Manager was kitchen supervisor.

After dinner, President Acello opened the Business Meeting at 7:12pm.

Students from the Class of 2026 came into the gym for recognition. Baskets were passed for tips.

Larry Jackson '74 moved, Kay Doyle Graves '71 seconded to approve and dispense reading of the 2023 annual meeting minutes. Approved.

Treasurer's Report was given by Treasurer Pauline Brown' 51. Please see attached. Claude Jackson '73 moved to accept the Treasurer's Report, seconded by Kevin Henry '71. Approved.

210 Alumni paid dues. 800 letters were mailed.

## **Election of Officers:**

President Acello stressed the importance of Alumni becoming active members and volunteers of the Association noting the need of a Vice President, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer.

Pauline Brown nominated Robert Comins '52 for Vice President, Rebecca Zarski seconded,

Joyce Slater nominated Mary Vernik Cary '71 for Assistant Secretary, Kevin Henry seconded.

Joyce Slater nominated Jane Ritrovato Becker '71 for Treasurer, Kay Doyle Graves seconded.

## Slate of Officers:

President:	John Acello '68
Vice President:	Robert Comins '52
Secretary:	Joyce Slater '71
Assistant Secretary:	Mary Vernik Cary '71
Treasurer:	Jane Ritrovato Becker '71
Assistant Treasurer:	Pauline Grant Brown '51 and Rebecca Zarski '93
Member at Large/Data Administrator:	Margaret McFee Acello '68

Kenneth Doyle '72 moved to accept the slate of officers, Walter Manko '56 seconded. Approved.

President Acello closed the business meeting at 7:29pm.

## Roll Call: Completed by Joyce Slater, Secretary

72 Alumni present from class of 1946 to 2024.

President Acello invited brief messages from members of the anniversary classes.

Paul Kling spoke for the Class of 1964, celebrating their 60<sup>th</sup> year as alumnus. He recalled art teacher Inez Lorenz teaching them to use Crayola crayons and "color inside the lines." He noted that his classmates are blessed with health. "We love our Alumni Association."

Christina Kleinberger Beuchemin spoke for the class of 1974 on their 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary. She noted the pleasure of growing up in Sharon Springs with a good foundation, being close to the earth and developing friendships at a young age. Bud Bressett, Class Advisor for the class was in attendance.

President Acello welcomed the class of 2024 into the Alumni Association. The class was introduced by Dan Cornwell. He noted that there are 19 seniors graduating. Commencement will be held June 28 at 6pm. He introduced Class President and Valedictorian Jayna Manko. She introduced the attending members of the Class of 2024 and told what their immediate plans were after graduation.

Jayna Manko will be attending SUNY Oswego. Louis Mesias will be attending Keuka College. Shivani Patel will be attending Siena College. Thomas Tissiere will be attending SUNY Binghamton. Breanna Parrotti was also in attendance.

President Acello then announced the winner of the Alumni Scholarship Award of \$500. This award will be presented to **SHIVANI PATEL** at graduation. Shivani expressed sincere appreciation for this award.

President Acello read a note by Robin Ressler, Pastor of the Sharon Springs United Methodist Church. She invited the Seniors and all alumni to the Baccalaureate program which will be held Thursday, June 21 at the church. She stressed the importance of this ceremony.

Pastor Ken Doyle gave the Benediction with some closing remarks to the seniors.

The Alma Mater was sung by all, led by Sarah Wright and Max Horning.

The crowd left to socialize with friends, family and classmates. Congratulations to all!

Respectfully Submitted,

Joyce Marie Slater, '71

Secretary